The Draft Enthusiast’s Official 2022 First Round NFL Mock Draft (Picks 26-32)

26. Tennessee Titans: Tyler Smith, OT/G, Tulsa

There’s always a weird offensive line pick in the first round of the draft. I have a feeling Tyler Smith will be that pick. He can play either tackle or inside at guard for Tennessee. I believe he’ll fit better at guard and can replace Roger Saffold. I’m not sold on Smith being a first-round talent, but NFL teams seem to like him more than the media does. I can see a surprise Quarterback pick here, especially if Pickett falls this far. However, I’m willing to bank on them opting to protect Tannehill rather than find his replacement.

27. Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Kenyon Green, G, Texas A&M

If Kenyon Green falls to Tampa Bay at #27, their front office and scouting department will be absolutely elated. He’s arguably one of the best offensive linemen in the class and offers a ton of versatility. He can play all five positions on the line, but I like him at either guard position or right tackle the most. He’s one of my favorite dudes in the class and I’m wishing him the best. Tampa Bay is the perfect spot for him as he gets to play alongside a great offensive line while protecting one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time. Seems like a good gig to me.

28. Green Bay Packers: George Karlaftis, EDGE, Purdue

A dream come true for Green Bay. The “Greek Freak” from Purdue falls down to #28 and they don’t hesitate to rush the ticket in. They have a need at defensive end with Dean Lowrey currently starting. His power on the edge will undoubtedly translate to the next level. There are some questions about his arm length being an issue, but his pass rush moves were so dominant in the Big 10 that I have very few reservations about his transition to the pros. His bull-rush might be the best in the class. Yep, even better than Hutchinson. Of course, his bend isn’t great, but I don’t mind considering how dominant and power-centric his playstyle is. His motor is elite and he never gives up on a play. He’ll also help their run defense, which has been lackluster in recent years. I love this pick for Green Bay, and I wouldn’t mind if they grabbed him at #22 either.

29. Kansas City Chiefs (via 49ers): Devonte Wyatt, DT, Georgia

Wyatt is a total steal for Kansas City here. After losing Jaran Reed, they need a defensive lineman who can stuff the run as well as rush the passer. Wyatt offers both of these traits and has a ton of upside. I like him a tad better than his teammate at Georgia, Jordan Davis. Wyatt’s pass rush potential is a huge plus and makes him a more versatile player compared to Davis. There are some character concerns that could drop his stock. So, it wouldn’t be far-fetched to see him fall to KC at #29. I think Wyatt could go as high as 12th overall depending on how teams feel about him. He could be a surprise riser or faller. I’m excited to see where he lands on Thursday night (unless the character concerns are legit, then day two it is).

30. Kansas City Chiefs: Kyler Gordon, CB, Washington

I really dig Gordon’s game. His playstyle is similar to that of teammate Trent McDuffie and Clemson cornerback Andrew Booth. His athleticism and physicality should land him in the first round. I think his 4.53 40 time isn’t indicative of his play speed. He looks much faster on tape and showcases excellent burst when closing in at the catch point. Gordon can play either outside or inside which is a huge plus for KC. His biggest weaknesses reside in his instincts and timing. Considering he was only a full-time starter for one season, it’s easy to see why he struggles with these facets of the game. I think he’ll get better with time, though.

31. Cincinnati Bengals: Jalen Pitre, S, Baylor

The Bengals have some options here. I’ve seen a lot of people mock interior offensive lineman here, but I can’t see it. They signed La’el Collins, Ted Karras, and Alex Cappa in the offseason. I think they’ve shored up the offensive line enough. Their defense is solid, but they could use some help in the secondary. Pitre offers versatility with the ability to play in the slot or box. He’s a bit undersized for a full-time safety, but I think he can make the transition in time if Cincinnati wants to put him there. A true cornerback is also an option here, but I favor Pitre over guys like Kaiir Elam from Florida. Pitre is a do-it-all defensive back with impressive leadership skills to boot. His character has been praised by many, and teams value exponentially.

32. Detroit Lions (via Rams): Lewis Cine, S, Georgia

For the last pick of the first round, I was juggling between wideout Jahan Dotson and safety Lewis Cine. I’m gonna go with the latter here due to how pressing of a need deep safety is for Detroit. I’m not as big on Cine as others are, but he’ll fit nicely with Tracy Walker in the backend of the secondary. He’s a smart player with outstanding tackling ability. Dan Campbell can breathe a sigh of relief knowing he drafted two defensive playmakers to add to his arsenal. I can see them targetting Dotson at #34 if he falls to them. Considering the Jags could go Cine at #33, they should secure him here at #32.

I hope you enjoyed reading this ridiculously long mock draft. It took most of my day to complete, but it was oddly cathartic getting my draft thoughts on paper. I doubt 75% of these picks will be accurate, but in a draft class with so much uncertainty, no one’s mock is going to be accurate. I can’t wait to see what ridiculous picks will be made come Thursday night. There’s a lot at stake with this draft, and I’m stoked to find out which team screws it up the most. Again, thanks for reading, and take care.

Leave a comment